Fund banking for venture funds compared: 5 banks and fintechs (2026)

As of October 28, 2026, Mercury is the only provider on this list that publishes a complete fee schedule for venture fund banking: $0 per month, $0 domestic wires, $0 ACH, and up to $5M in FDIC coverage through sweep. The pick changes to First Citizens (SVB) if your fund needs a capital call line of credit, and to AngelList Banking if you are already on AngelList for fund administration.
Why fund banking matters at Fund I
Your fund collects LP commitments in the millions and wires them out in batches: capital calls to LPs, investment wires to portfolio companies, distributions back. The bank account is the choke point. A slow wire, a missed approval or a coverage gap turns an operational problem into a reputational one with your LPs.
Most emerging venture managers open a bank account at whichever institution their lawyer or administrator suggests. That works, but it means accepting whatever fee schedule and FDIC coverage come with it. This comparison lays out the five providers a first or second venture fund is most likely to evaluate, what each publishes, and where each one stops.
Three types of fund bank
Three types of provider serve venture fund banking. They overlap in checking and payments but diverge on lending and coverage.
FDIC-insured banks. First Citizens (the acquirer of SVB's fund banking division), Grasshopper and JPMorgan hold deposits directly. FDIC insurance of $250,000 per depositor applies at each bank. First Citizens and JPMorgan also offer capital call lines of credit and treasury management. Grasshopper focuses on digital banking for the innovation economy and provides the banking infrastructure behind AngelList's product.
Fintech banking platforms. Mercury and AngelList Banking are fintech companies that partner with FDIC-insured banks to hold deposits. Mercury uses Choice Financial Group and Column N.A.; AngelList uses Grasshopper Bank and Piermont Bank. The fintech layer adds the interface, the fund-specific workflows and extended FDIC coverage through sweep networks. Mercury reaches $5M and AngelList reaches $125M in aggregate coverage.
Administration platforms with integrated banking. AngelList Banking sits inside the AngelList fund administration product. A fund on AngelList Full Service can open a bank account in under two minutes without a separate onboarding. This integration is the reason AngelList charges $5,000 per year for the banking product: the value is in removing a second vendor, not in the account itself.
Five fund banking providers compared on delivery model, published price and fund types. Mercury and AngelList Banking publish prices; Grasshopper publishes APY but not a fund-specific fee; First Citizens and JPMorgan are quote-based. All pages read October 28, 2026.
| Platform | Delivery | Fund types | Sweet spot | Published price | LP portal | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mercury | Fintech banking | VC funds, SPVs, management companies, startups | Emerging venture funds that want free banking with separate accounts for the fund, SPVs and the management company, and up to $5M FDIC coverage through sweep | Free ($0/month); Plus $35/month; Pro $350/month; domestic wires $0; ACH $0; international USD wires $0 (SHA); non-USD 1% conversion fee | No | Oct 28, 2026 |
| Grasshopper Bank | Banking | VC funds, PE funds, startups, fintech partners | Fund managers who want an FDIC-insured bank with no monthly fees, free domestic wires and interest on checking | No monthly fee; free ACH and domestic wires; Innovator Business Checking up to 1.35% APY; Money Market Savings up to 3.25% APY | No | Oct 28, 2026 |
| First Citizens (SVB) | Banking | PE, private credit, VC, growth equity, infrastructure, real estate, funds of funds, secondaries | Institutional fund managers who need capital call lines of credit, NAV loans, global cash management and a 40-year track record in fund banking | Quote-based | No | Oct 28, 2026 |
| JPMorgan | Banking | PE, VC, private credit, hedge, real assets, institutional funds | Large institutional fund managers who want treasury, payments, lending and custody from a bulge-bracket bank | Quote-based | No | Oct 28, 2026 |
| AngelList Banking | Fintech banking | VC funds, rolling funds, scout funds, SPVs | Funds already on AngelList for administration that want integrated banking with up to $125M FDIC coverage through a 500-bank sweep network | $5,000/year (free for funds enrolled before August 1, 2024) | No | Oct 28, 2026 |
Fee and coverage breakdown
This table carries a column no other comparison on this topic publishes: the maximum FDIC coverage available through each provider's sweep or network arrangement.
| Mercury | Grasshopper | First Citizens (SVB) | JPMorgan | AngelList Banking | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly fee | $0 | $0 | Quote-based | Quote-based | $5,000/year |
| Domestic wires | $0 | Free | Quote-based | Quote-based | Not stated separately |
| ACH | $0 | Free | Quote-based | Quote-based | Not stated separately |
| International USD wires | $0 (SHA) | Not stated | Quote-based | Quote-based | Supported |
| FDIC coverage (max via sweep) | $5M | $250K (single bank) | $250K (single bank) | $250K (single bank) | $125M (500+ banks) |
| Interest on checking | No | Up to 1.35% APY | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Capital call line of credit | No | No | Yes | Yes | No |
| Treasury / yield product | 4.09% yield ($250K min) | Up to 5%+ target | Yes | Yes | No |
| FDIC-insured bank | No (fintech) | Yes | Yes | Yes | No (fintech) |
| Last verified | Oct 28, 2026 | Oct 28, 2026 | Oct 28, 2026 | Oct 28, 2026 | Oct 28, 2026 |
The decision
Mercury is the pick for a first or second venture fund that wants published pricing, $0 fees on domestic payments, and FDIC coverage well above the standard $250,000. The $5M sweep coverage means a $20M fund can hold a full capital call in the account without exceeding the insured limit. Separate sub-accounts for each SPV and the management company remove the commingling risk without opening accounts at multiple banks. Mercury states 2,500+ VC funds on its platform (mercury.com/vc-funds, October 28, 2026).
Mercury is a fintech company, not a bank. Deposits sit at Choice Financial Group and Column N.A. If that structure matters to your LPs or your fund counsel, the pick changes.
The pick changes to First Citizens (SVB) if your fund needs a capital call line of credit. First Citizens is the only provider on this list with capital call facilities, NAV loans and global cash management as named products, backed by a 40-year track record in fund banking and 2,600+ fund clients. The trade-off is that everything is quote-based: you will not know the fee schedule until the relationship team sends a term sheet.
The pick changes to AngelList Banking if you are already on AngelList for fund administration. The $5,000 annual fee buys $125M in FDIC coverage and removes the second vendor. Account creation takes under two minutes from the AngelList dashboard. Funds enrolled before August 1, 2024, pay nothing.
The pick changes to JPMorgan if your fund is institutional, your LPs expect a bulge-bracket banking relationship, and you need treasury, custody and credit from one counterparty. Nothing is published; the relationship is bespoke.
Grasshopper is the underlying bank for AngelList Banking and an independent option for funds that want a direct FDIC-insured relationship with no monthly fees. It earns interest on checking (up to 1.35% APY) and offers SBA lending, but it does not publish fund-specific banking products or capital call facilities.
The pick would move away from Mercury if Mercury's partner banks were downgraded, if the fund needed capital call lending, or if a competitor published comparable pricing with direct FDIC insurance rather than a fintech layer.
Mercury
Who it is for. An emerging venture fund that wants free banking with separate accounts per entity, $0 domestic payments and $5M FDIC coverage through sweep.
Delivery. Fintech banking through Choice Financial Group and Column N.A. (both FDIC members).
Price. Free plan: $0/month. Plus: $35/month. Pro: $350/month with a dedicated relationship manager. Domestic wires, ACH, real-time payments and checks: $0 on all plans. International USD wires: $0 (SHA); non-USD wires: 1% conversion fee. Mercury Treasury: up to 4.09% yield, $250K minimum (mercury.com/pricing, October 28, 2026).
Limits. Mercury is not a bank. It does not offer capital call lines of credit, NAV facilities or any fund lending. Treasury yield is variable and depends on the fee tier (15 to 60 basis points in fees). International non-USD transfers carry a 1% currency conversion fee and a 3% fee on non-USD card transactions.
Grasshopper Bank
Who it is for. A fund manager who wants a direct relationship with an FDIC-insured bank, no monthly fees, free domestic wires and interest on checking.
Delivery. FDIC-insured digital bank.
Price. No monthly fee. Free ACH and domestic wires. Innovator Business Checking: up to 1.35% APY with 1% cash back. Innovator Money Market Savings: up to 3.25% APY when bundled with checking. Treasury solutions: target yields above 5% (grasshopper.bank, October 28, 2026).
Limits. Grasshopper does not publish a fund-specific banking product, capital call facilities or NAV lending. FDIC coverage is the standard $250,000 per depositor. The bank serves as infrastructure for AngelList Banking but a direct Grasshopper account does not include the AngelList sweep network or extended FDIC coverage. Specific fee schedules for international wires and fund-size-based services are not published on the website.
First Citizens (SVB)
Who it is for. An institutional fund manager who needs capital call lines of credit, NAV loans, global cash management and a dedicated fund banking team with a multi-decade track record.
Delivery. FDIC-insured commercial bank (top 20 US bank by assets, 125+ years).
Price. Quote-based. No pricing is published on the First Citizens fund banking pages read on October 28, 2026.
Limits. First Citizens acquired SVB's fund banking division. The fund banking products are designed for institutional managers across PE, VC, private credit, infrastructure and real estate. Emerging managers may find the onboarding process and minimum relationship sizes higher than at Mercury or Grasshopper. The 2,600+ client figure includes firms like Andreessen Horowitz, Bain Capital and Francisco Partners (fundbanking.firstcitizens.com, October 28, 2026).
JPMorgan
Who it is for. A large institutional fund that wants treasury, payments, lending and custody from the largest US bank, with a bespoke relationship managed through dedicated commercial bankers.
Delivery. FDIC-insured commercial bank (largest US bank by assets).
Price. Quote-based. No fund-specific pricing is published on jpmorgan.com/commercial-banking, read October 28, 2026.
Limits. JPMorgan's commercial banking division serves institutional fund managers but does not publish fund banking as a named product line the way First Citizens does. The digital banking platform (Connect) is built for large commercial clients. Emerging venture managers are unlikely to meet the implicit relationship minimums. Treasury, payments and lending are available but scoped through a relationship team, not a self-serve product.
AngelList Banking
Who it is for. A venture fund already on AngelList for administration that wants integrated banking with $125M in FDIC coverage and no second vendor.
Delivery. Fintech banking through Grasshopper Bank, N.A. and Piermont Bank (both FDIC members); integrated into the AngelList fund administration platform.
Price. $5,000 per year for funds enrolling after August 1, 2024. Free for venture and rolling funds enrolled before that date. Crypto and cannabis funds from the same period can re-enroll at no additional charge (angellist.com/banking, October 28, 2026).
Limits. Eligible accounts are venture funds, rolling funds, scout funds and SPVs. Syndicates, roll-up vehicles and investor accounts are not eligible. AngelList Banking does not offer capital call lines of credit, NAV lending or treasury yield products. The $125M FDIC figure is an aggregate across the 500-bank sweep network; each account receives up to $250,000 per partner bank. Account holders must explicitly elect to participate in the sweep programme.
What we did
We read mercury.com, mercury.com/vc-funds and mercury.com/pricing on October 28, 2026, and confirmed $0 monthly fees, $0 domestic wires and ACH, up to $5M FDIC coverage through sweep, and Mercury Treasury at up to 4.09% yield with a $250K minimum. We read grasshopper.bank on October 28, 2026, and confirmed no monthly fee, free ACH and domestic wires, Innovator Business Checking up to 1.35% APY with 1% cash back, and Money Market Savings up to 3.25% APY. We read innovation.firstcitizens.com/investor-solutions and fundbanking.firstcitizens.com on October 28, 2026, and confirmed capital call lines of credit, NAV loans, global cash management, 2,600+ fund clients and the top 20 US bank positioning; no pricing was published. We read jpmorgan.com/commercial-banking on October 28, 2026, and confirmed treasury, payments, credit and trust services; no fund-specific pricing was published and no fund banking product line page was found. We read angellist.com/banking on October 28, 2026, and confirmed $5,000/year pricing, $125M aggregate FDIC coverage across 500+ banks, Grasshopper Bank and Piermont Bank as partner banks, and the grandfathering of pre-August 2024 funds. Mercury and AngelList Banking are new to the site. Grasshopper, First Citizens (SVB) and JPMorgan are new to the site. No vendor was contacted.
Frequently asked questions
How much FDIC insurance does a venture fund get at a single bank?
Does my venture fund need a separate bank account from the management company?
Can Mercury handle capital calls and distributions for a venture fund?
What is a capital call line of credit and which bank on this list offers one?
Is AngelList Banking available to funds not administered by AngelList?
What happens to a venture fund's bank account if a fintech provider shuts down?
Sources
- Mercury homepage and VC funds pagemercury.com
- Mercury pricingmercury.com/pricing
- Grasshopper Bank homepagewww.grasshopper.bank
- First Citizens fund banking (investor solutions)innovation.firstcitizens.com/investor-solutions
- First Citizens fund banking portalfundbanking.firstcitizens.com
- JPMorgan commercial bankingwww.jpmorgan.com/commercial-banking
- AngelList Networked Bankingwww.angellist.com/banking
- FDIC deposit insurance coveragewww.fdic.gov/deposit-insurance
Terms used in this article
- Capital call A capital call, also called a drawdown, is a notice from the general partner requiring each limited partner to wire a portion of their committed capital to the fund by a due date, usually ten business days, to fund investments, fees or expenses.
- Subscription line (capital call facility) A subscription line is a revolving credit facility, secured on the limited partners' uncalled commitments and the general partner's right to call them, that a fund draws to pay for investments and expenses before calling capital from LPs and repays from the later capital call.
- NAV (net asset value) NAV, net asset value, is the value of a fund's assets, with investments carried at fair value, less its liabilities at a reporting date, and equals the total of all partners' capital accounts.
- Management fee The management fee is an annual charge paid by the fund to the management company, typically 2% of committed capital during the investment period, often stepping down afterwards to a lower rate or a basis of invested capital, to cover salaries, rent and the cost of running the firm.
- Subscription agreement A subscription agreement is the contract an investor signs to commit capital to a fund, stating the commitment amount, making representations about eligibility as an accredited investor or qualified purchaser, identity and source of funds, and agreeing to be bound by the limited partnership agreement when the general partner accepts the subscription.
For people actually running a fund
One operating problem a week: capital calls, K-1s, LP reporting, waterfall math, onboarding. Every Tuesday. Free.
The GP Ledger links to vendors so we can see what readers click. No link on this page is paid and no ranking is for sale.